Libby High School seniors awarded scholarships

Print Article

Niklaus P. Gier (Co-valedictorian): Montana University System Honors Scholarship, $16,000; MSU-Bozeman Stipend, $1,000; Flathead Electric Coop, $4,000; Marie Sverdrup Paul Memorial, $1,000; Knights of Columbus, $1,000; Dave Roberts Memorial, $700; Libby Area Kootenai National Forest Service Employees Award, $500; Libby Elementary School Citizenship, $500; Elks, $500.

Colin J. Maloney (Co-valedictorian): Appointment to the United States Air Force Academy, all tuition and all fees paid.

Bridger D. Herreid (Salutatorian): Washington State University, Cougar Academic Achievement, $40,000; Academic Waiver, $1,000; 60s All-Class Reunion, $1,000; Dan Walter Teague Dean Memorial, $1,000; Dave Roberts Memorial Scholarship, $700; Cabinet Peaks Medical Center Employees, $500; Greg “Peach” Kambel Memorial, $500; Libby Area Kootenai National Forest Service Employees Award, $500; Arthur J. Rambo Memorial Award, $500.

Niklaus Neumann: Montana University System Honors Scholarship, $16,000.

Anna Carlson: LCYSA High School Soccer, $250; I.O.O.F. Cabinet No. 68 Lodge, $333.

Reed Christensen: Igniters’ Incentive Award, $1,000; Lincoln County Board of Realtors, $250.

Gabriel Peck: University of Idaho, $1,000; Libby Rotary Club, $500; Arthur J. Rambo Memorial, $500.

Braydan Thom: Montana State University-Bozeman Premier, $2,500; Flathead Electric Coop, $4,000; Libby Nordicfest Scholarship, $1,000; Dave Roberts Memorial, $700; Bill Racicot “Logger” Memorial, $400; Friends of Scotchman Peaks, $300.

Grace Doolin: Dave Roberts Memorial, $700; Greg “Peach” Kambel Memorial, $500.

Kristen Lindgren: Assembly of God University, Academic, $2,500; AG Minister Dependent Grant, $1,945; TEACH, $1,000; Susan B. Keller Memorial, $1,000; Dave Roberts Memorial, $700; Kootenai Karacters, $1,000; C.G. P.E.O., $500; Libby Rotary Club, $500.

Jhamaal Sykes: I.O.O.F. Cabinet No. 68 Lodge Scholarship, $333; Libby Rotary Club, $500; Donna Sather Drawing, $100.

Madisen Monigold: American Legion, $250.

Jasmin Snyder: Kootenai Kiwanis, $500.

Alexis Higareda: Flathead Electric Coop, $2,000; Libby Community Thrift Store, $1,000; Libby Educational Association, $850; Montana Wilderness Association, $300.

Nicholas Peterson: Incredi-Bull Riding, $1,000.

Erik Lauer: Wenk Memorial, $1,000.

Giovanni Cano: LCYSA High School Soccer, $250.

Gareth Lott: Pepsi Drawing, $500.

Annie Berget: Sons of Norway, $500; Libby Rotary Club, $500; Libby District KNF Canoe Gulch Employees, $500.

Emily Banich: Cabinet Peaks Medical Center Employees, $500.

Lauren Burrell: Lincoln County Credit Union Financial Literacy, $500.

Trevor Sackett: Randy Rosal Memorial, $500.

Print Article

Read More Local News

Western News wins six Better Newspaper Contest awards

June 19, 2018 at 5:00 am | Western News The Western News took several awards for division two newspapers in the Montana Newspaper Association’s annual Better Newspaper Contest, announced Sunday, for coverage of investigative and breaking n...


Read More

Troy Schools Board tables weapons policy

June 19, 2018 at 5:00 am | Western News The Troy Schools Board of Trustees discussed a policy which would affect who could possess weapons on school grounds for purposes of education, hunter safety or school safety, during their final meet...


Read More

‘This dang story needs to be told’: Retiring LHS teacher aims to write Libby’s history

June 18, 2018 at 5:44 pm | Western News A year shy of having taught for 30 years, an anniversary some might hold out for, Libby High School history teacher Jeff Gruber said that now “just felt right” to retire. He’s young enough, he enjo...


Read More

Aspiring opera singer, Libby teen to perform on famous Australian stage

June 15, 2018 at 5:00 am | Western News Mikalyn Zeiler, a Libby High School soon-to-be-senior with dreams of singing in operas, will perform July 21 at the Sydney Opera House in Sydney, Australia, alongside dozens of aspiring young vocalis...


Read More

Contact Us

(406) 293-4124
311 California Ave.
Libby, MT 59923

©2018 The Western News Terms of Use Privacy Policy